The Church Lads' & Church Girls' Brigade

Historical



NUMBER 39: NATIONAL PRESIDENTS



The Church Lads' Brigade

1892 H.R.H. The Duke of Connaught and Strathearn KG KT (1850 - 1942)

Since 1942 the position has been filled by the Right Honourable and Most Reverend the Lord Archbishop of Canterbury. This Presidency continues in the CLCGB.

1942 Rt. Rev. William Temple PC MA D.Litt. (1881 - 1944)

1945 Rt. Rev. Geoffrey Fisher PC GCVO MA (1887 - 1972)

1961 Rt. Rev. Arthur Ramsey PC MA BD (1904 - 1988)

1974 Rt. Rev. F. Donald Coggan PC MA DD (1909 - 2000)

The Church Nursing & Ambulance Brigade

1923 Lt. Gen. Sir W. Launcelotte Gubbins KCB MVO MB JP (Late Surgeon-General Army Medical Services)

The Church Girls' Brigade

1930s H.H. The Princess Marie-Louise VA CI GBE RRC (President)

1930s H.R.H.The Duchess of York (Patron)

The Church Lads' & Church Girls' Brigade

1978 Rt. Rev. F. Donald Coggan PC MA DD (1909 - 2000)

1980 Rt. Rev. Robert Runcie MC PC MA Oxon. FKC (1921 - 2000)

1991 Rt. Rev. George Carey PC BD Hons MTh PhD FKC (b.1935)

2002 Rt. Rev. Rowan Williams PC MA DPhil (b.1950)



